Turning Off Sharing

At some point you may want to turn off workbook sharing in Excel. For instance, when the end of the development period for the workbook has been reached, you will want to turn off sharing and come up with your final version of the workbook.

You can turn off sharing by following these steps:

  1. Display the Review tab of the ribbon.
  2. Click the Share Workbook tool, in the Changes group. Excel displays the Share Workbook dialog box.
  3. Clear the Allow Changes check box.
  4. Click on OK.

When you turn off sharing and click on the OK button, Excel displays a warning that what you are doing may have consequences for other users. Provided there are no other users accessing the workbook, you should go ahead and click on Yes. If there are other users (shown back in the Share Workbook dialog box), you may want to ask them to save their changes and close the workbook before proceeding.